They are clumsy, fall frequently, and break their toys. They cannot occupy themselves i meaningful ways. Some are late talkers and cannot talk clearly or mess with grammar. Some are loud, wild, impulsive, and true daredevils while others are quiet, shy, and insecure, and prefer to observe what others are doing to doing it. Some talk their way through without acting while others act without thinking and are unsafe frequently. At preschool and kindergarten, they refuse to draw and engage in crafts, and cannot eat without spilling food. Some just cannot sit still and focus. Despite their intelligence, they may have trouble at school with handwriting, reading, and maths. They may have  although they are intelligent. tun sich schwer mit Gleichaltrigen, sind difficulties engaging with their peers and become outsiders or the group clown



Do You Know These Kids?

These kids are "somewhat different" because they perceive the world differently. Their sensory processing and integration is different. It is esitmated that 6-15% of all children are affected by these dysfunctions (Marco, 2013). These children are often diagnosed as ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder), ADHD (Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity), DCD (Developmental Coordination Disorder) or Asperger Syndrome.

 

It is still not widely know that we do not have 5 but 7 senses, and that perceiving information inaccurately or distortedly can also affect senses other than seeing or hearing. Difficulties in registering, modulating, discriminating, and integrating sensory information from the body sense are likely to impact development and behavior, particularly play and social interaction with peers, learning, and well-being. 

 



 Since 2002, the non-profit organization GSIÖ (Austrian Society of Sensory Integration) is the national representation of Sensory Integration. In close cooperation and continuous exchange with Dr. Ayres' successors and international organizations such as national SI organizations, the Global SI Network (SIGN), and the International Collaboration for Education in Ayres' SI (ICE ASI), we are dealing with questions and issues in the context of Sensory Integration in Austria.

 

This website explains Sensory Integration (SI) theory and the therapeutic approach SI therapy as well as the GSIÖ's activities.

Sie sind tollpatschig und ungeschickt, stolpern häufig und machen ihr Spielzeug kaputt. Sie können sich alleine nicht sinnvoll beschäftigen. Sie sprechen später und undeutlicher oder verdrehen die Sätze. Sie sind lauter und wilder und unbeherrschter und richtige Draufgänger. Oder sie sind ruhiger und schüchterner und unsicherer und beobachten lieber, was andere tun. Sie reden lieber als zu handeln, oder aber sie handeln so unüberlegt und impulsiv, dass es immer wieder gefährlich ist. Im Kindergarten wollen sie nicht zeichnen und basteln und können nicht essen ohne zu patzen. Oder sie können einfach nicht still sitzen und sich auf eine Sache konzentrieren. In der Schule haben sie Schwierigkeiten mit dem Schreiben, dem Lesen oder dem Rechnen, obwohl es nicht an der Intelligenz liegt. Sie tun sich schwer mit Gleichaltrigen, sind Außenseiter oder Gruppenkasperl



Kennen Sie diese Kinder?

Sie sind "irgendwie anders", weil sie Wahrnehmungsstörungen haben. Schätzungen zufolge sind 10-15% der Kinder davon betroffen (Marco, 2013). Oft bekommen sie Diagnosen wie ADS (Aufmerksamkeitsdefizit-Syndrom), ADHS (Aufmerksmkeitsdefizit-Syndrom mit Hyperaktivität), UEMF (Umschriebene Entwicklungsstörung motorischer Funktionen) oder Asperger Syndrom.

Immer noch ist zu wenig bekannt, dass wir nicht 5 sondern 7 Sinne haben, und dass es auch in anderen Sinnen als dem Hören und Sehen eine verzerrte oder schlechte Sinnesverarbeitung geben kann, die die Entwicklung, das Verhalten (besonders beim Spielen und im Umgang mit Gleichaltrigen), das Lernen und das Wohlbefinden beeinträchtigen. 




Der Verein "Gesellschaft für Sensorische Integration in Österreich" ist seit 2002 die österreichische SI-Vertretung. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Nachfolgerinnen der Urheberin der Sensorischen Integration, Dr. Jean Ayres, und in laufendem Austausch mit internationalen Organisationen (wie anderen nationalen SI-Organisationen) und Gremien (wie dem Global SI Network und der internationalen Collaboration for Education in Sensory Integration) nehmen wir uns um alle Fragen der Sensorischen Integration in Österreich an.

 

Auf dieser Website stellen wir Theorie und Therapieansatz der Sensorischen Integration (Ayres' Sensory Integration(R)) dar und unsere Arbeit als Verein vor.